Review: Par Où T'es Rentré... On T'a Pas Vu Sortir (1984)

Composer: Alan Silvestri

Label: Polydor France (LP transfer)

Catalogue Nr.: Bootleg



Now I would really like to see the faces of all the people who are reading the title and trying to figure out what the heck this is all about. I am sure no one has ever heard anything about this film and rightfully so. There are projects that are a huge embarrassment for everyone involved because they not only fail on every level but damage peoples reputation by being insanely terrible. The title for this film, in English How Did You Get In... We Didn't See You Leave, is already abound with nonsense while the film itself represents the hopeless last attempt of comedian veteran Jerry Lewis to make a come-back in Europe. I think it is commonly known that he failed miserably.

The score:

At the time when Jerry Lewi's career was as good as death, the career of composer Alan Silvestri was just about to sky-rocket. Nothing is known about the reasons why Alan Silvestri became involved with this obscure French project which carries his one and only score for a foreign movie to date. One can only guess that he accepted it to pay his bills. Sure, he scored the incredibly successful Romancing The Stone earlier this year but that project came out of the blue at a time when he still lost more money on scoring a film than he would earn. It is almost certain that the success of Romancing The Stone lead to this French LP release of his weird score for Par Où T'es Rentré... On T'a Pas Vu Sortir.

To make things short, this score is far away from his later masterpieces. In fact, it is really unbearable at times because it mostly consists of rather simple synth sounds and drum loops. Imagine his score for the Delta Force (1986) minus its melodic qualities and exciting arrangement and you will know what Par Où T'es Rentré... On T'a Pas Vu Sortir is all about. The fast-paced rhythm and beat of the main theme heard in "Les 'Inspaghettibles' Contre Le 'Front De Résistance Du Couscous'" is exactly the same as in Delta Force while a weird and flabby synth sound, seemingly imitating an electric guitar, is trying to give us a hint of melody. Ok, one has to admit that Delta Force was still two years away at that time. Surprisingly, this obscure first track at least offers a cheesy fun for Silvestri-Fans who will recognize the composers synth trademarks.

Unfortunately, things don't stay that way in the next cue "Aerobic Poids Lourds" which has this annoying beat and wobbly sound all the way through with very little going on for 4 minutes. The same goes for the next track "Le Laveur De Vitres", annoying beat with very little going on. The weird thing is that the first 30 seconds of these tracks can be quite funny while every second beyond is just damn boring and annoying. The cheesy fun returns with "Kasbah City" which at least offers a hint of melody again but also suffers from annoying beats, a weird synth arrangement and its painful length of 5 minutes.

But wait and don't stop reading yet, folks! My philosophy is that there is a nice surprise hidden within every score. Who would have expected that this score carries Alan Silvestri's first short compositions for a  medium-sized orchestra? The composer himself stated that his first score for a full orchestra was Fandango which followed one year later but Par Où T'es Rentré... On T'a Pas Vu Sortir carries few short tracks of orchestral experimentation foreshadowing the brilliance of his later masterpieces. Remember the usage of Alfred Newman's main theme for How The West Was Won in the opening of Romancing The Stone? Alan Silvestri must be a real fan of that tune, because there is a variation of it in the track "Règlement De Comptes A Kasbah City". "Les 'Inspaghettibles' Reçoivent Leur 'Parrain''" features a sad trumpet solo in the middle and a hint of Silvestri's nervous orchestral score for Fandango at the end.

The song "High Energy" is forgettable with uninteresting lyrics sung by Evelyn Thomas who obviously had serious problems with her upper teeth. The main theme returns in "La Fuite À Orly". Silvestri is blending the synthetic beats with some orchestral music which makes this cue the highlight of all synth tracks. A waltz for strings at the beginning of "Soirée ''Jet Society'" is a foreshadowing of Alan Silvestri's knack for writing romantic themes for strings. Hints of orchestral suspense music blended with synth beats are following in "Le P.D.G. Des Chiffons Est Menacé" with yet another rendition of the main theme at the end. Romantic synth music accompanied by more annoying beats follow in "Les Filles À La Piscine" which is another one of these endlessly on-going cues without much content. The romantic melody could have a beautiful relaxing effect but sadly, that is destroyed by the beat. The ending in "Fin De La Guerre Des Gangs" is all orchestral with a pompous march for militaristic drums featuring Silvestri-fanfares that will make the fans of the composer jump in excitement. You see, despite the obvious problems with the synth tracks, there is still something to discover in this score at least for Silvestri-fans. All others will cringe at the utterly simple and overlong synth cues which are in the majority.

Review by Andreas Creutzburg



Score as heard in the film: 36%

Score as heard on CD: 30%

TOTAL: 33%


The presentation:

It was extremely hard to find an LP to CD transfer of this score. One can only wonder that there are people out there who found this oddity of a score worth keeping. I am sure many owners of the LP threw it away after getting to the embarrassing song. There are 33 minutes of score which is more than we need.

Presentation by the Label: Bootleg



A score that could be interesting for Silvestri-fans who will hear some early orchestral experimentation from the composer foreshadowing his latter brilliant work. The synth tracks are unbearable at times though the obscure score is still too good for the film it accompanies.



01.  Les "Inspaghettibles" Contre Le "Front De Résistance Du Couscous" (03:58)
02.  Aerobic Poids Lourds (04:04)
03.  Le Laveur De Vitres (02:26)
04.  Kasbah City (05:22)
05.  Règlement De Comptes A "Kasbah City" (00:55)
06.  Les "Inspaghettibles" Reçoivent Leur "Parrain" (01:18)
07.  High Energy (03:48)
08.  La Fuite À Orly (02:44)
09.  Soirée "Jet Society" (00:48)
10.  Le P.D.G. Des Chiffons Est Menacé (04:10)
11.  Les Filles À La Piscine (04:33)
12.  Fin De La Guerre Des Gangs (02:14)